Where this blog came from

I first came up with the idea of a blog on the spirituality of communication about two years ago. I know that as a writer, I yearn for that rare community of writers who live fully and appreciate the excitement, joy, and awesome responsibility we have as Christian writers and communicators.

 

As a Daughter of Saint Paul, I have experienced that sense of community frequently within my religious congregation.  The Daughters of Saint Paul are an institute of women religious (sisters or nuns) founded by Blessed James Alberione and Mother Thecla Merlo in 1915 for the purpose of radiating Christ through our lives and through the media. Each time I encounter the spirituality of Blessed James Alberione in a new or deeper way, it’s been like a dynamite blast propelling me forward in my twofold calling to holiness and to write/communicate. My hope is that this blog can become a place where this sense of community can be nurtured, and the essential elements of a spirituality of communication can be pondered, more clearly defined, and assimilated.

 

I have been inspired by both amazing works of art and a few artists who live or reflect brilliantly this vocation as Christian communicators, beginning with the Bible itself. After all, Jesus is the greatest storyteller. And Saint Paul is an amazing, innovative, effective communicator. The Church, too, has given us much to reflect on in its more recent documents on faith and culture (more about that later).

 

Some outstanding individual artists who have inspired me to go deeper in my own reflections are: Pope John Paul II, Madeleine L’Engle, Flannery O’Connor, C.S. Lewis, George MacDonald, and Katherine Paterson, to name a few.

 

My first desire is to express and deepen my own vocation as a Catholic communicator and as a nun who writes. Maybe in the process, other Christian writers and media artists can do the same.

2 thoughts on “Where this blog came from

    • Thanks for visiting. I look forward to browsing through your blog a little more–the true “spirituality of communication” leads to a spirit of communion that unites us on the deepest levels. God bless.

      Like

Leave a Reply

