Title chosen for my new book

Pauline Books & Media will release my newest book in November 2009. It’s a small, personal book of meditations that affirms God’s unconditional love for us in the midst of life’s daily challenges. I’ve designed it to serve a dual purpose:

 

1) As an encouraging introduction to trust in God’s love for believers who have never really allowed God’s unconditional love to permeate their lives

2) As a daily or thematic support for those struggling with difficult situations or a healing journey and who want to build positive self-esteem

 

Each meditation starts with an ordinary life situation that challenges our image of God and healthy self-esteem, followed by a Scripture passage that speaks directly to this challenge. In the light of the Word of God, the reflection highlights the unhealthy assumptions we tend to make and shows how God continues to love us even in this situation. Every meditation affirms the truth that God’s love for us can become the foundation of our spiritual lives and a positive and healthy self-esteem.

 

That’s the book in a nutshell. The process of taking the book from its initial draft to (almost-) publication has been surprisingly easy up till now, compared with some of my other books.

 

Except the title.

 

I’ve never been good at titles. Early on, I close my eyes and wish a perfect title will “magically” pop into my head. It never does.

 

It’s not that I don’t have ideas. I come up with dozens (in this case, scores) of “almost” titles.  According to PBM’s editorial and marketing departments, I seem to choose titles that are inviting but not clear enough. I’ve been going back and forth about a title with the editor for about six months now, both of us hoping for the perfect solution.

 

I’ve taken three surveys on the title–some of you probably participated in one. I’ve agonized over it, spending hours of precious writing time trying to come up with the “perfect title.” Choosing titles epitomizes for me the challenge we face as writers daily. We are constantly taking big concepts or insights–the intangible or the impossible to pin down–and “incarnating” them into a few words. In my little book’s case, trying to distill 30,000 words into 5 or 10. This challenge is what I most love and hate about the writing life–it drives me crazy and thrills me…alternately or sometimes even simultaneously.

 

Two weeks ago, the publisher made a decision and contacted me. After a week-long e-dialogue, I decided to trust their final suggestion. It’s not perfect, but it is a title I can stand behind because it is clear what the book is about, and reflects well what I wrote. And that’s the first principle of communication, right? So now, I can not only share with you the lesson I learned (which is from now on, come up with a clear, appealing title before I even start writing!), but the long-awaited title itself:

 

See Yourself Through God’s Eyes:
52 Meditations To Grow in Self-Esteem

10 thoughts on “Title chosen for my new book

  1. I like it better than your first choice, “It’s Not About You, So Get Over Yourself”. I felt that was too ‘on the nose’.

    🙂

    Like

  2. I like the title of your book.
    I am often also challenged by limiting my words; have a tendency to be wordy. I can appreciate your struggle to come up with a short yet meaningful title for a book, but I think it has come to a good one!

    Congrats on your new book.

    There is a Sister here at SHF who has also published two books. Sister Lucile Hinze. “Travel Becomes Us” and “Lucille’s Harvest: Captured Thoughts from Then and Now.”

    Like

  3. Dear everyone,

    Thanks for the positive comments on the title. I think it’s really growing on me. Now I’m eager to see the cover design, and can’t wait for the book to come out.

    Like

  4. Sister – the book has a wonderful title! I know what you went through trying to come up with it. I had the same problem with my new book, a type of monastery and convent travel guide called Good Night and God Bless: A Guidet to Convent and Monastery Accommodation in Europe. It took years to write the and research the book and the working title was ‘Unconventional Sleeps’ which the editor wasn’t happy with.

    A few months ago, when I was out driving with my daughter we were talking about the book as I needed to come up with a title urgently with a May 2009 release date We were discussing things my very religious mother would say to me as a child. This was when Good Night and God Bless popped into my head – I don’t know why it took so long because I heard it every night of my life for at least 18 years!!!

    Good luck with your book and congratulations on your achievement.

    Like

  5. I think this is a wonderful, wonderful title. Wow, it makes me want to read it right now. I would love to receive a review copy for my radio program – Faith, Hope and Action which airs in Spokane and Seattle, Wa. When is your publication date?

    Like

  6. Thanks again for the comments. I’m glad I’m not the only one who struggles with titles! SEE YOURSELF THROUGH GOD’S EYES will be released in November, 2009.

    God bless!

    Like

  7. I am sure the selected title will catch the eyes of readers seeking to see themselves through God’s eyes and be caught in the embrace of God’s unconditional loving gaze.

    Congrats on the completion of this project!

    Lisa

    Like

    • Lisa,

      So good to hear from you…and glad you found my not-too-frequently updated blog. Thanks for the encouragement for my new book. I just got a picture of the cover, and it looks lovely!

      God bless!

      Like

  8. Hi, RAnn,

    Thanks for the invitation to join Sunday Snippets. I’m going to pass for now…since my focus is primarily on communications spirituality and most of the links on Sunday snippets don’t really connect topic-wise too well. But I enjoyed looking over some of the websites, and especially enjoyed your book reviews. I’ll continue to be a casual reader and perhaps find occasion to link with your blog.

    God bless you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

