Trivialities of a Writing Life

I’ve been very quiet this New Year, and I apologize. Just after Christmas, I caught a flu that really knocked me down for two full weeks, and I’m really  just getting back to my daily life. Surprisingly, the time in bed seems to have been unexpectedly fruitful. When our prolific founder, Blessed James Alberione, used to be sick enough to go to bed for a few days, he’d call it a retreat arranged by God. And he’d emerge from his sickroom brimming with new ideas and initiatives. I guess in my own small way, I’m experiencing the same thing.

IMG_20140516_084834201

2015 looks to be an amazing year, and I’m excited to see what lies ahead. I wasn’t planning to make a New Year’s resolution for writing. Writing across various media and knowing my huge “to write” list, for once I feel that I am writing at full stretch. Perhaps I am not writing in my favorite genres, but I am writing in new forms, and constantly challenged to create new content. But what I realized after I’d spent a couple of days in bed is that the past couple of months, I’ve started to feel very drained. Writing holds a lot less joy for me now than in the past. Something has gone missing from my writing life: I haven’t been taking the time to nurture the sources of my creativity and the process itself.

So my one “writerly” New Year’s resolution is to nurture this interior writing process. Concretely, I’ve chosen to begin by connecting with other writers. I’m off to a slow start, but I’ll be gradually reconnecting with writers I’ve lost touch with and hopefully discovering new connections as well.

* * *

At the end of January, I begin a new round of travels to promote Soul of Christ: Meditations on a Timeless Prayer! I fly out to California on January 23rd, for a series of talks and book-signings and Eucharistic retreat days. For a complete list, check my author site announcements.

* * *

Something that I’m hoping to do this January, in preparation for the feast of the Conversion of Saint Paul on January 25th, is to reflect here on the communication characteristics of Saint Paul. I ran a Monday series on this blog a few years ago on this very topic, but I also want to deepen the theme of Pope Francis’s Message for World Communications Day last year. Of course his new message for World Communications Day 2015 is due out January 24th, and with the theme Communicating the Family: A Privileged Place of Encounter with the Gift of Love, I’m sure I’ll have lots to reflect on. But I want to continue to deepen the core of last year’s message, communication as encounter.  I’m hoping to post daily for the conversion novena: January 16th-24th, but if I don’t make it for all nine days, I’ll at least do a triduum of reflections.

* * *

2015 is the Centenary Celebration of the foundation of my community, the Daughters of Saint Paul. Through the year, I’m sure I’ll be posting loads about our communication spirituality and upcoming events (we’ve got some wonderful events happening for Catholic artists and communicators!). The Catholic Register, Canada’s Catholic newspaper, just published this wonderful article about my community and our upcoming celebration in Toronto: The Daughters of Saint  Paul: Media Mavens for 100 Years. 

 

 

Leave a Reply

